Skip to main content

National Honor Society

National Honor Society Induction Ceremony
On Monday, Oct. 1, thirty-nine candidates were inducted into the Lillian Sewell Chapter of the LHS National Honor Society.  The candidates, a mixture of juniors and seniors, were selected on the basis of the chapter’s four tenets: scholarship, character, leadership, and service.  Adviser Dean Boyd and LHS Principal, Dr. Paul Drake presided over the ceremonies as chapter officers, President Matthew Singleton, Vice President Garrett Jones, Secretary Jessica Brottlund, Treasurer Gracie Hawkins, and Senior Member Monserratte Chavarria lead the candidates in the candlelight swearing-in ceremony.  When asked why the importance for the ceremony and why NHS, Mr. Singleton stated, “The induction ceremony is more than just a figurative handing off of the torch. The inductees are being offered a chance to burn brighter than ever before and light the way for mankind as a whole. The ceremony really is the spark to light a blazing spirit in everyone.”  He further added that “NHS members are different in their unique ability to succeed academically while also fostering an environment where others around them are able to succeed. Not only can they carry more responsibility than any other student, but they also have enough strength left over to look to their side and pick someone else up.”

   The newest members include: Jocelyn Barnes, Gracie Belmont, Logan Blackburn, Micayla Bogany, Merek Brister, Hannah Chambers, Maisie Cherry, Jadyn Collier, Raime Daniel, Cory DeBlasio, Coryn Dirden, Abigail Fenton, Sebastian Garcia, Yasmin Garcia, Jonathan Hampton, Caroline Harrison, Taylor Hartsell, Hannah Hawkins, Rafael Hernandez, Autumn Loman, Brook Loman, Rhonya Long, Zachary McDaniel, Mallory McWhorter, Cameron Morris, Azucena Mosqueda, Ericka Ndita, Melanie Patranella, Jack Pedigo, DeBrian Rains, Alyssa Rood, Amy Rodriguez, Taylor Ross, Kaitlyn Sandel, James Severance, Devan Shannon, Tatum Smith, and Matthew Stovall.

NHS Induction Ceremony
NHS Group Pic
National Honor Society photo from Induction Ceremony